Last week I decided I was done with pull-ups. I told Talent that he was going to wear big boy undies and we weren't going to wear pull-ups anymore. He looked at me with the most pitiful face and said, "Oookay." I let him pick out what underwear he wanted to wear and we set the pull-ups timer on my phone for 45 minutes. We went to the bathroom every 30-45 minutes all day. To say we were in the bathroom more than we were anywhere else that first day is an understatement. By 5 I quit. He and I needed a break from each other and potty training. He had a few accidents that first day but I was determined he was going to do this. So on we went the next day with potty training and spending more time than I ever have in the bathroom. Let's just say that this child was blessed with not just one dose of stubbornness, but two. He gets it from my husband and myself so we are pretty screwed when he digs his heels in. The second day was better than the first but by day three I was so sick of seeing the inside of our house and bathrooms that I finally ventured out of the house with underwear and pants in my purse. Now I fully expected him to have an accident while we were gone. But, he didn't. He held it after telling me he needed to go and we were on the road and there was truly nowhere to go. We made it home and he went pee and we danced and sang our potty song and things finally started looking up.
Now a week has passed and we have made MANY trips out of the home. We are getting braver and he is coming to tell me when he needs to go. We are using the potty timer less and less. He is doing an amazing job. I couldn't be more proud of this stubborn little boy. He's using the potty, wearing big boy underwear, and making progress each day! He gets a reward for all of his efforts this week. He has worked SO hard and I am buying him a new game for his LeapPad. He has made me proud at all of his efforts. Even if he has resorted to my famous moves of eye rolling. I get that every single time I ask if he needs to go. I now know why my Mom wanted to knock my eyes out of my head. At least the hardest part is over and we are just about free from diapers. I can carry a normal sized purse soon and not have to worry about having a huge monstrosity to carry extra wipes and diapers and all of that crap. I finally see the light at the end of the diaper tunnel and it is glorious!
No comments:
Post a Comment